June Stitch Fix Review and Giveaway #23 – I Kept It All!

Now that the frenzy of my wedding and honeymoon have calmed down, summer has arrived and I am ready to bolster my wardrobe with some new fashions! My 23rd shipment from Stitch Fix arrived this week and it was SO amazing, I decided to keep every item in my fix! You’ll want to read all the way to the end of this post because I’m also giving away a $20 Stitch Fix gift card!

This post contains affiliate links. If you make a purchase through one of those links, I receive a small commission, which helps support the blog.

June 2015 Stitch Fix Review and Giveaway #stitchfix #fashion

My husband, Rob, and I are slowly settling into our condo and you will notice a change of scenery for these photos. The extra bedroom that we intend to use for our shared office gets the best lighting, so I propped up my mirror in that room and started shooting! The room is currently empty as we wait for our custom desk/workspace to arrive so it will be interesting to watch our office take shape in the coming months. But I digress. Let’s get into this Stitch Fix review!

June 2015 Stitch Fix Review and Giveaway #stitchfix #fashion

The first item included in my fix was a Deena Crochet Back Blouse from Daniel Rainn ($68). I felt inclined to take a risk with the blouse when I tried it on so I mixed prints and initially paired it with the Walt Striped Skirt from 41Hawthorn ($68) that came in my 5th fix. They actually looked pretty great together!

Daniel Rainn Deena Crochet Back Blouse and 41Hawthorn Walt Striped Skirt from Stitch Fix #stitchfix #fashion

I don’t often wear skirts (I greatly prefer dresses over separates) so I paired the blouse with a pair of Sophie skinny jeans from Kensie ($88) that came in my 4th fix. I still wear these jeans all the time and they looked great with the blouse.

Daniel Rainn Deena Crochet Back Blouse with Kensie Sophia skinny jeans from Stitch Fix #stitchfix #fashion

I have been asking my stylist, Layla to try and find more blouses with smaller arm holes (I really dislike the giant armholes that often come with sleeveless blouses.) This particular top was perfect. No giant armholes here!

Daniel Rainn Deena Crochet Back Blouse with Kensie Sophia skinny jeans from Stitch Fix #stitchfix #fashion

The crochet detail on the back of the blouse was also quite beautiful. I paired it with the layering cami that was included with the floral blouse from my most recent fix. The ivory cami provided a beautiful contrast with the navy blue crochet. I also adore the fact that the blouse is slightly longer in the back to provide a little extra coverage.

Daniel Rainn Deena Crochet Back Blouse with Kensie Sophia skinny jeans from Stitch Fix #stitchfix #fashion

Layla also included a beautiful coral Martina Slub Knit Open Cardigan from Pixley ($48). She had previously sent a very similar dark green cardigan in my 16th fix, but the color didn’t suit me and I really wanted to brighten up my wardrobe. I was overjoyed to see this bright and happy cardigan included in this fix. Coral is one of my favorite colors to wear and this cardigan will be perfect to have at school on the days that they blast the AC in my classroom. It also happened to look pretty great with the Deena Crochet Back Blouse.

Martina Slub Knit Open Cardigan from Pixley and Daniel Rainn Deena Crochet Back Blouse with Kensie Sophia skinny jeans from Stitch Fix - June 2015 Stitch Fix Review #stitchfix #fashion

Quick story! See my sandals in the photo below? I bought them for my wedding dress and it killed me to keep them locked up in the closet without being able to wear them so I actually slipped them on for my 20th Stitch Fix post as a little hint toward the wedding. I didn’t say anything about it in my blog post, but it was a fun little “Easter Egg” for my readers.

Martina Slub Knit Open Cardigan from Pixley and Daniel Rainn Deena Crochet Back Blouse with Kensie Sophia skinny jeans from Stitch Fix - June 2015 Stitch Fix Review #stitchfix #fashion

I don’t tend to wear a lot of blouses on the weekends, but I still like to look nicer than just wearing a t-shirt and jeans so I paired the cardigan with a tried-and-true tank that I purchased at Old Navy a few years ago. This made for a wonderful weekend look.

Martina Slub Knit Open Cardigan from Pixley with Kensie Sophia skinny jeans from Stitch Fix - June 2015 Stitch Fix Review #stitchfix #fashion

The third item in my fix was a yellow Sicily Pintuck Detail Silk blouse from Daniel Rainn ($78). I am such a sucker for yellow. I own very few yellow clothing items, but it is one of my favorite colors. (I love it so much that I once owned a yellow car and loved driving it all over town).

yellow Daniel Rainn Sicily Pintuck Detail Silk blouse with Kensie brand Sophia skinny jeans - June 2015 Stitch Fix Review #stitchfix #fashion

The blouse looked great with my Sophie Skinny Jeans from Kensie.

yellow Daniel Rainn Sicily Pintuck Detail Silk blouse with Kensie brand Sophia skinny jeans - June 2015 Stitch Fix Review #stitchfix #fashion

The blouse was a little plain and I needed something to break up the color and add contrast to my outfit. The 4th item in my fix was perfect for this! Layla included a Callie White Denim Jacket from Kut From the Kloth ($78) in this month’s box. I already own a small collection of blue denim jackets, but I don’t have a white one! This jacket was perfect.

yellow Daniel Rainn Sicily Pintuck Detail Silk blouse and Callie White Denim Jacket from Kut From the Kloth with Kensie brand Sophia skinny jeans - June 2015 Stitch Fix Review #stitchfix #fashion

I love how the jacket is slightly cropped and had a nice tailored fit. It will pair nicely with my maxi dresses throughout the warm summer months.

yellow Daniel Rainn Sicily Pintuck Detail Silk blouse and Callie White Denim Jacket from Kut From the Kloth with Kensie brand Sophia skinny jeans - June 2015 Stitch Fix Review #stitchfix #fashion

The fifth and final item included in my fix this month was a navy and white Colibri Sleeveless Top from Market & Spruce ($44).

Colibri Sleeveless Top from Market & Spruce - June 2015 Stitch Fix Review #stitchfix #fashion

Colibri Sleeveless Top from Market & Spruce with Kensie brand sophia skinny jeans - June 2015 Stitch Fix Review #stitchfix #fashion

At first I wasn’t really sure what to think. I loved the idea of the blouse, but look at the arm holes. It was also really long. and needed to be jazzed up somehow. I tried adding a belt, but that really didn’t do any favors for my figure. Not wanting to give up on what could be a great layering piece, I swapped my jeans for a pair of fitted white capris and added a mint cardigan. Big improvement!

Colibri Sleeveless Top from Market & Spruce with white denim capri pants and a mint cardigan - June 2015 Stitch Fix Review #stitchfix #fashion

The look was a little on the baggy side, but it was something I could see myself wearing on a more casual day. It’s too bad I don’t sail because something about this ensemble really made me want to go sailing.

Colibri Sleeveless Top from Market & Spruce with white denim capri pants and a mint cardigan - June 2015 Stitch Fix Review #stitchfix #fashion

I still sensed that this blouse still had untapped potential so I dug way back in my closet to my winter clothes and found a basic gray sweater. The sweater is actually a Michael Kohrs item that I snagged a great deal on at TJMaxx over a year ago and always seemed a little plain to me. I put it on over the blouse and WOW. I think I found the perfect use for it!

Colibri Sleeveless Top from Market & Spruce with white denim capri pants and a gray pullover sweater - June 2015 Stitch Fix Review #stitchfix #fashion

Now I really want to go sailing! Who wants to take me out on their boat?

Colibri Sleeveless Top from Market & Spruce with white denim capri pants and a gray pullover sweater - June 2015 Stitch Fix Review #stitchfix #fashion

The Breakdown

Here’s a quick recap of everything in my fix. If you see something you love, be sure to pin your favorites to your style board and let your own Stitch Fix stylist know!

Deena Crochet Back Blouse from Daniel Rainn ($68) – KEEP
Martina Slub Knit Open Cardigan from Pixley ($48) – KEEP
Sicily Pintuck Detail Silk blouse from Daniel Rainn ($78) – KEEP
Callie White Denim Jacket from Kut From the Kloth ($78) – KEEP
Colibri Sleeveless Top from Market & Spruce ($44) – KEEP

 

Give Stitch Fix a Try

Want to know more about Stitch Fix? Here’s a quick rundown of this amazing service.

Stitch Fix is an online styling service for women. It’s free to sign up and build your online style profile. To create your style profile, users just answer some basic questions about their sizes and clothing preferences, as well as setting price limits on different types of clothing. The process takes about 10 minutes and is super-easy. When you are ready, you can schedule your first fix. For a $20 styling fee, you will be matched with your own personal stylist who will review your style profile and hand-select 5 items that she thinks will be perfect for you. Shipping is free and the items arrive right at your door. This service is wonderful for busy women like me who love new clothes but don’t have time to shop. It’s also great because you can try everything on in the convenience of your own home; using your existing shoes, accessories, and coordinating items. You have three days to try on the clothes and make your choices. When you are done, sign in to your account and check out. Then place any items you do not wish to keep in the pre-paid shipping envelope that is included in your fix and drop it off at the post office. That’s it! You will only be charged for the items you wish to keep and returns are free too!

stitchfixbox

BUY MORE AND SAVE MORE

Remember that $20 styling fee you pay for your fix? It is automatically deducted from the price of the clothing that you wish you keep. So as long as you purchase at least one item from your fix, the styling service is free. Stitch Fix also offers an amazing Buy-All Discount. If you choose to keep everything in your fix, you automatically save 25% on your entire purchase, in addition to earning back your $20 styling fee! If you are doing the math from my own fix, the original price of all of the items was $316, but I could save $79 by purchasing every item in my fix. The new price for all of those items is just $237.

Stitch Fix is a truly amazing service that has done wonders for my closet and saved me HOURS of time in the store. I know you will love it as much as I do. Sign up today and create your free style profile. I would greatly appreciate it if you would consider signing up with my referral link (included throughout this post). I receive a small commission each time someone signs up using my link which I use to offset the costs of receiving my own shipments in the mail. If you have already signed up using my link, THANK YOU!

Stitch Fix Giveaway

I am giving away a $20 Stitch Fix gift card to one lucky fan. It’s enough to cover the cost of your next styling fee and enjoy a risk-free fix. Use the rafflecopter below for your chance to WIN!

Enter to WIN a $20 Stitch Fix gift card so you can have your next fix styled for FREE!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

More Chances to WIN!

A few of my good blogging friends are showing off their fixes and giving away $20 Stitch Fix gift cards on their blogs as well! Stop by Differentiated Kindergarten and Sharing Kindergarten to check out their newest fashions and enter their giveaways for more chances to WIN!

Sharing Kindergarten

Differentiated Kindergarten

 

Improve Your Stitch Fix Photos

If you are also a blogger and are looking to improve your mirror selfies as you show off your fix, check out my personal blog, Crazy Together. I have a blog series entitled “Crazy for Photography” that I use to share some of my best photography tips. At the moment, the posts have mostly been about Stitch Fix photos, but I intend to expand the content over time. You can also read more about my camera and photography gear in this blog post.

stitch fix 23 14

 

More Summer Styles from My Fixes

Looking for more Stitch Fix clothes for summer? I have received some beautiful items in my previous fixes. Click any of the links below to see what arrived in my past Stitch Fixes and pin your favorite summer pieces to your Pinterest style board.

[pt_view id=”d044158729″]

Share This Post:

Pinterest
Facebook
Twitter
Email

Maria Gavin

Maria is a former kindergarten and first grade teacher, with 13 years of teaching experience. Her love and passion for all things early childhood is now fulfilled as a mom to two amazing kids. She loves sharing practical and creative tips and ideas that are perfect for young learners – in the classroom or at home!

Leave a Comment

31 Responses

  1. I loved all of your Stitch Fix looks, especially the coral cardigan and how you paired it, then what you did with the sleeveless polka-dot shirt & the grey Michael Kohrs sweater. Fabulous.

  2. Hello! I have been following you for a year (just finished my first year teaching kinder). I was wondering how much a usual stitch fix costs?
    Thank you!

  3. Hi, I’ve been following your blog for a few months now, and I’m wondering who your Stitch Fix stylist is. I have been getting “fixes” monthly since December 2014, but I often get a new stylist each month even when I request the same one, and I overall, haven’t been getting fixes I love…or even like all that much. At any rate, I love the things you get in your fixes. Please help.
    Thanks!
    Jena

    1. Hi Jena! It took me SEVERAL fixes before I was matched with Layla, my current stylist. Keep providing quality feedback and know that these things sometimes take time. You can also contact customer support hello@stitchfix.com and express your concerns to see if there is anything they can do to move the process along! Best of luck, Maria.

    1. Hi Mandy! My stylist is Layla. I also went through SEVERAL different stylists before I was paired up with Layla. Keep providing feedback and give it time. You can also contact customer support hello@stitchfix.com and see if they can help!

  4. I just received my first StitchFix box and was quite impressed! I work in an elementary school, too, and really don’t like to shop because I don’t have time during the school year, and I am hard to fit. My school friends were all getting cute new clothes, and every time I asked where they came from , they said, “StitchFix”. I had my doubts, but gave it a try. I’m so glad I did! I also kept everything. I love the things you got, and repinned some of your pics for my stylist to see on my Pinterest page. Enjoy your summer!

    1. Oh Yay! I love hearing Pinterest success stories! I often consider myself difficult to shop for since many styles look so unflattering on me. Somehow, my stylist has figured out my body type and always does a great job!

  5. I must be too cheap! They’re cute, but super expensive, and I just can’t swing it on a teachers salary. $78 ?? for that slip of a top is outrageous, even with the discount when buying it all. I like getting my boxes in the mail, it’s fun and there have been some cute things, but wayyyy too expensive for me. I can’t see sticking with it as long as you have, but good for you!

    1. I completely understand your hesitation about the expense. It’s important to keep in mind that these are quality clothing items. The yellow blouse cost so much because it is a silk blouse. While most people probably can’t justify filling their closets with Stitch Fix clothes, it is a very helpful service for adding quality, interesting pieces into your wardrobe.

  6. Love your stitch fix……and your photos! I need to check out your photography tips…..because my stitch fix photos always look TERRIBLE! I never post them…ha! Anyway thanks for the fabulous giveaway. I tried to subscribe via email….but the link was broken or something messed up….but I did try!!

    Katie

  7. Thanks for showing off your Fixes. I am a teacher as well and looking for ways to update my wardrobe. I have tried it a couple of times and gotten a couple of pieces. Thanks for sharing.

    Shannon

  8. Always love your fixes! Love how you styled the black and white skirt with the floral blouse. LOVE the yellow top! I can’t wait for my next fix in a couple of weeks. I don’t do one every month, so this is a treat and my birthday fix! 🙂

  9. Maria, WOW!! What a great fix! I’m a little bit jealous :-). I’m always so impressed with how well you style your items with the clothes you already own. What a great fixed to have after your honeymoon! 🙂 Congrats again, and thanks as always for sharing your stitch fix experience!

    1. Thanks Amanda! I had a very small wardrobe for a long time so it’s easy for me to find unique ways to mix new pieces with my existing clothes.

  10. I received that same navy polka-dot blouse and didn’t keep it because of the same issues. Now that I see how you paired it with white pants and under that gray sweater I am jealous I didn’t keep it!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  11. Hi! I just received my first fix this week! I was hesitant at first and was only going keep one piece…a really cute maxi dress. I tried on the pieces a second time and decided everything fit so well I would take advantage of the discount and keep it all. I’m hard to fit sometimes because I’m very thin but the jeans included actually fit perfect. I actually have the same problem with large armholes and most often will just sew them up a bit. One of my tops is sleeveless and it will just need a minor fix. The one thing I might find a new home for is a clutch bag that is too small for my needs. Overall I was pleased but the prices are pretty steep. I’m going to keep trying it for a while and see how it goes.

    1. Hi Bonnie, I know the prices can be steep but Stitch Fix has become such a time saver for me! I hope you love all of the pieces that you chose to purchase!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Hi, I'm Maria.

I’m a former kindergarten teacher turned work-from-home mom. I still love sharing ideas and resources to make teaching easier, so you can focus on what really matters in the classroom. When I’m not working on the blog, you’ll find me chasing kids around the house with a cold cup of coffee in my hand (some things never change even once you’re out of the classroom!)

Featured
Resources

You Might Also Like